Training a Son of Adam

I recently started reading C. S. Lewis’s The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe to my four-year-old son, Benjamin.  It is his first acquaintance with Narnia, as well as his first full-length chapter book (other than The Big Picture Story Bible).

Benjamin loves having books read to him.  He loves the whole visual-auditory experience of a children’s book full of colorful pictures.  My copy of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe has a few pictures here and there, but for the first time in his life Benjamin is being trained in the art of listening to the spoken word.  His eyes are being deprived of what they normally receive when we read (pictures on every page), and his imagination is being forced to fill in the gaps.

I didn’t expect it to be an easy transition, and it hasn’t been.  He never asks to read the book with lots of words and few pictures, and quite often when I suggest it he is hesitant to begin.  But tonight I saw him lie there on his bed, listening to Edmund succumb to the Turkish delight, and by the time we had finished chapter 4 he was ready for more.  It was a wonderful experience for me, and I hope it was the first of many more to come as we travel through Narnia together on our way to Middle Earth.  All in good time.

But for now, it’s time to stretch those imagination muscles.  My little son of Adam needs to get ready.  The thrones of Cair Paravel are waiting.

This entry was posted in Children, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Training a Son of Adam

  1. Kathy O'Kelley says:

    Aaron,
    I enjoyed this post very much. I can just picture you reading to Benjamin. You are such a good Dad.

  2. Tim says:

    I read “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” to Daniel when he was probably 4 or 5. I don’t remember exactly when. We just finished “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader,” and he’s enjoyed the books very much. It’s amazing to me at how children can understand and enjoy books that are much more advanced than their educational level.

Leave a Reply

