A Christmas Reading, 12/21

After Ralph has been assigned to write a theme entitled, “What I want for Christmas”:

The clouds lifted.  I saw faint gleam of light at the other end of the black cave of golden gloom which had enveloped me since my visit to Santa.  Rarely had the words poured from my penny pencil with such feverish fluidity.  Here was a theme on a subject that needed talking about if ever one did!  I remember to this day its glorious winged phrases and concise imagery:

“What I want for Christmas is a Red Ryder BB gun with a compass in the stock and this thing that tells time.  I think everybody should have a Red Ryder BB gun.  They are very good for Christmas.  I don’t think a football is a very good Christmas present.”

Merry Christmas to all!

About Aaron O'Kelley

Aaron O'Kelley (Ph.D., The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary) is a pastor and theological educator who lives in Jackson, Tennessee, with his wife and their three children.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment